So I just randomly decided to write this. Bear with me because it might not flow well and it might be a shit-show (haha aren’t they always, amirite?), but I need somewhere to vent and, well, this blog is basically my place to vent.

So I’ve been seeing a lot of people talk about how it’s wrong to swear on a blog (if you haven’t gathered that this is a blog unsuited for children and people with weak constitutions already, then I weep for humanity). If you’ve read my blog to any extent, you’ll know that I sprinkle in a few curses here and there from time to time (biggest fucking understatement of 2017 so far). So what’s the deal? Why can’t I curse? What’s wrong with cursing?

In my opinion: nothing. Absolutely nothing. Look, if you don’t like cursing, then go ahead and be a boring bastard avoid it any way you like. But for the love of god, don’t try to tell me what I can and cannot say. I like swearing. Hell, my girlfriend likes swearing even more than me, so it’s not even like I’m at the top of the proverbial food-chain.

There’s this great new innovation in the west. It came out a little while ago. It’s called FREEDOM OF SPEECH! Basically, I’m allowed to say whatever I want, about whatever I want, whenever the fuck I want. I have to face the consequences for that, sure. I don’t mind having to face the music if I’m the one who plugged the stereo in. But you have no goddamn right to tell me I can’t curse. You have no right to tell me that I better give up my freedom of speech.

We writers thrive on freedom of speech. You think we’d have any of the great works of literature we have today if things were censored? All you people who like Fifty Shades of Grey would never even have known about it if censorship was a thing. Censorship is one of the biggest fucking evils to attack western civilization.

How so, you ask? Think about it.

When you control what is said and what is published to the people at large, you control the people. You’re a step away from having a thought-police. You’re a step away from propaganda and brainwashing. Freedom of speech isn’t just a way to express yourself and say what you want, it’s also a way for people to be free. It’s a freedom that enables all other freedoms. The sharing of ideas is what brings us all together as a community.

So the next time someone tells you to censor yourself, tell them to fuck off. It isn’t their right, nor is it your responsibility. Freedom of speech can not be censored to spare anyone’s feelings.

