So the time has finally come!

I’ve been anticipating this for a while now, and I would have started the Grammar Guide sooner had my internet not been off for a week. I’m excited, because improving my grammar is not only something I’ve wanted for a while, but I’ve also wanted to help others with their grammar. But let’s clear a few things up first.

The Grammar Guide is where I go an extensively research a specific grammatical topic. I then create a post based on that topic where I inform/educate others (these posts are scheduled for every Thursday). They say that only those who really know a subject can teach it, so I’m hoping that this will boost not only my grammar, but your grammar as well.

In addition to the grammar, I think a little vocabulary building can’t hurt either. So with every grammar post, I’ll have a “word of the week” up for us to learn. The whole goal is to increase our skills as writers!  This week’s word is:

 

Lascivious

adjective
  1. feeling or revealing an overt sexual interest or desire.

 

Let’s get on with it, shall we?

In order to get to advanced grammatical topics like clauses, phrases, syntax, etc., we need to start with the basics. The basics, while rudimentary for some, are crucial to cover. We need to build a solid foundation for our grammatical castle to be built upon. So what is the basics of grammar, in my opinion?

The parts of speech.

Now some of you might roll your eyes. I understand that it’s not the most complex work, but it is important to cover. We’ll be covering them over a few articles so as to give each its due diligence. This week’s part of speech is Nouns!

*In future posts we might cover more than one part at a time, but for now I don’t want to make a single lesson too long.*

Nouns

Nouns are words that name people, places, things, etc. There are actually quite a few different kinds of nouns. Here is a handy list of the different kinds of nouns!

*Please note most nouns can fit into multiple categories.*

Common Nouns:

Common nouns name things, people, and places that are not specific.

Examples:  man, car, mountain, cat, dog, state, country

Proper Nouns:

Proper nouns name specific places, things, and people. They will always be capitalised.

Examples:  Sun, Mary, America, John, Apollo, California

 

Abstract Nouns:

Abstract nouns are names of things you cannot perceive with your external, physical senses.

Examples:  love, wealth, religion, history, hate, history, joy

 

Concrete Nouns:

Concrete nouns are nouns that can be perceived with your senses.

Examples:  brick, clock, duck, finger, Susan, water, grass, John, flower

 

Countable Nouns:

Countable nouns are nouns that you can count.

Examples:  country, bed, room, house, pencil, dog, shell

 

Uncountable Nouns:

As the name suggests, these nouns cannot be counted.

Examples:  milk, sugar, water, sand, gas

 

Compound Nouns:

These nouns are made up of two or more different words.

Examples:  eyeglasses, pigtails, snowflake, tablecloth

 

Collective Nouns:

These nouns refer to multiple things or people as a unit.

Examples:  group, band, family, community, flock, team

 

Singular Nouns:

Name one thing, person or place.

Examples:  horse, dog, shoe, picture, baby, man

 

Plural Nouns:

These refer to more than one thing, person, or place, but not as a unit (like collective nouns).

Examples:  horses, dogs, shoes, pictures, babies, men

 

Possessive Nouns:

These nouns indicate possession.

Examples:  Mom’s car, the priest’s clothes, David’s books

Holy cow, we just covered eleven nouns! Now you might not think that knowing all these nouns would be important, but it certainly is. There can be quite a shift in the structure and makeup of a sentence if the type of noun is changed. These seemingly basic lessons will eventually lead to things like that. We just need to build our sturdy foundation first.

Now, the whole point of this is for us to learn. I want you all to tell me if I fucked up. If I made a mistake with my facts, please let me know. Let’s get a discussion started!

If you have in questions or suggestions, let me know in the comments!

