It’s Friday already? Great! I’ve had something I’ve wanted to say for ages and now’s the perfect time…

Yesterday I released the very first Grammar Guide on nouns. If you haven’t checked it out yet, I highly recommend you check it out here! Now it is very basic, I admit, but it’s like that for a reason.

I want  to build a good grammar structure for myself and you guys from the ground up. I want to have excellent grammar skills. This is a goal that should be admired…

Unfortunately in today’s society, things like that are no longer praised. Instead of being admired for your skills, you’re ridiculed. Instead of being thanked for helping someone when they make a grammatical (or spelling) mistake, you’re given a title equating you to one of the most hated group of people in history.

“Grammar Nazi!”

Well then…

I don’t really mind the ‘nazi’ adage. What I do mind is the dismissal nature these people have when they say this. Now I don’t harbour any strong feelings of hate or anger towards these people. I’m generally a pretty laid back person. I do, however, want to say a few things.

First of all: Fuck you.

Secondly: How low do you have to sink in order to just flat-out dismiss someone when they help you correct a mistake you made?

Seriously. Do they feel like it nets them an automatic victory when they call you this? Is what you said suddenly invalid? What is their problem?

And maybe I wouldn’t be so upset if it at least seemed like they cared about it. You’re using one of the largest languages in the world. You put “English” down when asked for your home language on a form. You identify as an English-speaking individual.

Why the hell do you just not care about misusing the language? Why do you just blindly bastardise this amazing language with your errors? And then you have the fucking audacity to tell me I’m the annoying one?

You know what’s even worse? The hypocrisy of these people. They would be the first to correct you on a mistake you made. And you’re an understanding individual, so you accept that you made a mistake and move on. Just so much as correct a spelling mistake and you’re suddenly the Nazi of the Grammatical universe. You’re practically Hitler.

Well sig-fucking-heil motherfucker!

If having good grammar means I’m going to be equated to them, then so be it. I’d rather be labelled an annoying “Grammar Nazi” than be illiterate like them. Any self-respecting literate person would accept the mistake they made and move on. Not these people, apparently.

Now I know that some people can be really annoying at times. Some people might correct someone’s grammar/spelling during an argument (when it has nothing to do with the conversation). Ideally you would only ever correct someone when you genuinely want to help them improve.

Of course we’re not all like that.

I will happily admit that I’m not perfect. In fact, I’ll be the first to admit my flaws. That’s my problem with them. When their flaws are pointed out, they make you seem the fool.

What?

How does that even work?

I don’t know guys. I’m just tired of it…

I know this rant is a bit all over the place. This is truly just me rating and rambling about a particularly annoying pet peeve of mine. There’s no reason for it, as with most of these rants. Fridays are my way of venting out the frustrations of the week, and so the Friday rants might sometimes look like this.

I hope you all have a great weekend. What are some of your pet peeves? Let me know in the comments!

 

